Want to know if mustard is gluten free? In this post we share the complete guide + nutrition facts + the best GF mustard brands!
Mustard can be found in many different foods.
It is one of the most widely used condiments in gluten-free hot dogs and hamburgers.
It is also used as a salad dressing, potato salad, and to marinate meat, poultry, and fish.
One of the main reasons mustard seems to be such a popular food choice is that there are many varieties of mustards.
From Dijon mustard to Honey Mustard, you are sure to get one that you like!
This wide range of different styles and flavors makes it seem like you can use it in any food without worrying about problems.
Indeed when you have been shopping for food, you have come across the term gluten-free more than once.
Gluten refers to the protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. Suppose you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. In that case, you must stick to products that do not contain traces of it.
What is mustard?
Mustard is a seasoning that consists of ground mustard seed and other ingredients.
It comes in yellow, brown, and hot varieties.
The basic yellow mustard has both turmeric and vinegar as crucial ingredients.
Brown mustards also have white vinegar and turmeric as crucial ingredients. Still, they can contain onion powder or garlic powder to add flavor to your food.
Mustard Nutrition Facts
Mustard does not contain cholesterol and has about ten calories per tablespoon. Because it is low in calories, it can be used by people who are on a weight loss diet.
It also has Omega-3 fatty acids.
In terms of minerals, mustard has calcium, manganese, zinc, phosphorus, and iron.
Health benefits of mustard
Mustard has Omega-3s that have been shown to help reduce the risk of heart disease and increase HDL cholesterol levels.
It also improves joint and bone health.
Scientists have discovered that mustard’s antioxidant compounds can protect against coronary heart disease.
Furthermore, they have shown evidence suggesting some anticancer properties, particularly for colon cancer.
Finally, mustard has been found to help reduce inflammation related to chronic conditions like asthma and arthritis.
Dijon Mustard: This strong-flavored, classic French mustard is made with black mustard, vinegar, and spices. It is perfect for adding a flavorful touch to meat, poultry, and fish.
Honey Mustard: This sweet and tangy mustard is perfect for dipping sauces, salad dressings, and glazes. Also great for sandwiches and burgers.
German-Style Mustard: This spicy mustard is perfect for adding a little heat to your next dish. It is excellent for sausages and other German-inspired dishes.
Regular Yellow Mustard: This classic American mustard is perfect for adding flavor to sandwiches, burgers, and hot dogs.
Is mustard gluten-free?
Mustard is naturally gluten-free.
However, you should check the product labels on the prepared mustard sauces before purchasing or consuming them to ensure the mustard is certified gluten-free.
This is because cross contamination can occur when food that does not contain gluten can become contaminated by being in contact with other foods or utensils.
That is why it is convenient to always check the gluten-free label.
Many mustard manufacturers offer one or more options that fit a gluten-free diet.
Mustard: Gluten-Free Options
These are some of the most popular brands of mustard that you can find in supermarkets and food stores.
You can get several types of gluten-free mustard with this brand, such as Organic Dijon mustard, organic honey mustard, organic horseradish mustard, and organic yellow mustard.
In addition, the vinegar used in the preparation of this mustard comes from beets and corn.
Manufacturer of gourmet brands, they offer a delicatessen style mustard, in addition to the more classic Yellow Mustard and Honey Mustard, all of them gluten-free.
Heinz is a trendy brand of condiments in the United States and other countries.
You can get Heinz yellow mustard, organic, and certified Kosher.
Another of the popular mustard brands has some gluten-free mustard varieties.
For example, their Dijon mustard is gluten-free and kosher, dairy-free, vegetarian, and free from thickeners and fillers.
This mustard, produced by a subsidiary of Kraft Foods, is not labeled gluten-free.
With several different mustard flavors, it offers, among others, Dijon mustard and a pepper flavor called Arizona Heat.
Now that you know which mustards are gluten-free, get creative and start cooking!
Want to learn more about gluten free options?
- Amaranth flour: Learn everything about this gluten free flour
- Rice flour bread recipe
- Is gluten free low carb? Know the differences
Leave a Reply